Sports & Clubs

Below is a list of Glenelg High School sport teams, coach names and contact information:

Below is a list of Glenelg High Schools clubs, faculty advisor and contact information:

ACTIVE MINDS

  • Active Minds is dedicated to saving lives and to building stronger families and communities. Through education, research, advocacy, and a focus on students and young adults ages 14-25, Active Minds is opening up the conversation about mental health and creating lasting change in the way mental health is talked about, cared for, and valued in the United States.
  • Faculty advisor: Steven Burnett (steven_burnett@hcpss.org)

AFTER-SCHOOL CHOIR

  • Come sing with the GHS Choir Program! Students are expected to attend all rehearsals and concerts.
  • Faculty advisor: Natalie Cardillo (natalie_cardillo@hcpss.org)

ANTIRACISM AWARENESS GROUP

  • This group strives to be a brave space where we can explore and process events of the past and the present with a lens of racial equity.
  • Faculty advisors: Jenn Shepard (jennifer_shepard@hcpss.org); Dawn Currie-Scott (dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org); Marcy Burkom (marcy_burkom@hcpss.org)

ASIAN STUDENT UNION

  • The Asian Student Union is composed of any student interested in Asian culture. Participants will discuss the experience of being Asian, born and raised in or outside of the USA.
  • Faculty advisor: Patricia Feinstein (Patricia_Feinstein@hcpss.org)

BIOLOGY OLYMPIAD

  • The USA Biology Olympiad (USABO) is a national competition sponsored by the Center for Excellence in Education to select the competitors for the International Biology Olympiad. The open exam is a short multiple choice exam open to all high school students administered later in the year.
  • Faculty advisor: Jessica Montminy (jessica_montminy@hcpss.org)

BIOMEDICAL CLUB

  • This club welcomes those who are interested in working in the health field such as in medicine, nursing, physical therapy, psychology, paramedics, and many more!
  • Faculty advisor: Patricia Feinstein (patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org)

BLACK STUDENT UNION

  • The Black Student Union (BSU) follows the 6P’s of Excellence from the Black Student Achievement Program: Proud, Prompt, Persistent, Productive, Polite, and Prepared. The Black Student Union is a group of multicultural students who learn about their history, culture, and heritage, while promoting diversity.
  • Faculty advisors: Phil Johnson (philip_johnson@hcpss.org); Vanessa Hooks (vanessa_hooks@hcpss.org)

BOOK CLUB

  • This group of students meets to thoughtfully and respectfully discuss the MD One Book, MD Black Eyed Susans, and a variety of other books suggested by club members.
  • Faculty advisor: Dawn Currie-Scott (dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org)

CHESS CLUB

  • Meet and play or learn chess!
  • Faculty advisor: Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org)

CLASS OF 2022

  • Faculty Advisors: Maureen Hammond (maureen_hammond@hcpss.org); Nick Formica (nicholas_formica@hcpss.org)

CLASS OF 2023

  • Faculty advisor: Chris Rosas (christopher_rosas@hcpss.org)

CLASS OF 2024

  • Faculty advisors: Michelle Oland (michelle_oland@hcpss.org); Feven Nugusse (feven_nugusse@hcpss.org)

CLASS OF 2025

  • Faculty advisor: TBA

CODING, GAME DESIGN, MAKER CLUB

  • Students use raspberry pi minicomputers to create or design nearly anything they're interested in!
  • Faculty advisor: Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org)

COMPUTER CLUB

  • The Computer Club prepares its members for several programming and computer competitions, such as the University of Maryland High School Programming Contest and the American Computer Science League (ACSL) contests. The computer club members practice solving problems from previous competitions. In addition, the members explore data structures and algorithms beyond the scope of the computer science courses offered at Glenelg High School to prepare to achieve at the highest levels in the computing competitions.
  • Faculty advisor: Holly Eckard (holly_eckard@hcpss.org)

CULTURAL FINE ARTS CLUB

  • This club specializes in teaching about other cultures around the world, through reflection on their art forms (theater plays, dance routines, fine art, illustration, movies, and literature). We give each other artistic feedback, and come to an understanding of what the culture is mainly centered towards, and what stories they have told through their art.
  • Faculty advisor: Greg English (greg_english@hcpss.org)

DUNGEONS & DRAGONS (DnD) CLUB

  • The DnD Club is a group where we bring together diverse players to create and to adventure in a world formulated by the Dungeon Master. We hope to exude cooperation, critical thinking, and logical skills in order to traverse puzzles and realistic scenarios through the course of these games.
  • Faculty advisor: John Ballentine (john_ballentine@hcpss.org)

EDUCATORS RISING

  • The purpose of the club is to learn more about teaching and related professions in education.
  • Faculty advisor: Kathryn Delaney (kathryn_delaney@hcpss.org)

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America)

  • Members develop skills in leadership to become contributing members of society.
  • Faculty advisor: Kathryn Delaney (kathryn_delaney@hcpss.org)

FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes)

  • The Glenelg Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) is an organization that promotes community service, fellowship, and physical activity through a growing relationship with Jesus Christ.
  • Faculty advisor: Phil Johnson (philip_johnson@hcpss.org)

FINANCIAL LITERACY CLUB

  • This club will focus on certain financial topics that high schoolers need to know before getting jobs/careers or entering college.
  • Faculty advisor: Herjit Jandu (herjit_jandu@hcpss.org)

FOREIGN LIFE CLUB

  • This club is dedicated to teaching students how to live in other countries and what it is like to travel abroad. We will learn about new cultures, how to travel, and how to be independent.
  • Faculty advisor: Virginia Peralta (virginia_peralta@hcpss.org)

FOREVER FRIENDS

  • Forever Friends focuses on equal opportunity and inclusion for all students at Glenelg by pairing students with and without disabilities to build long-lasting friendships.
  • Faculty advisor: Cherie Weld (cherie_weld@hcpss.org)

GBC (Glenelg Broadway Connections)

  • GBC is our peer and special needs theater club. It’s a full year club in which students learn and rehearse a production. Peers are partnered with special needs students to help them learn the music, acting, and dance for the show.
  • Faculty advisor: Ms. Kassidy Sharp – kassidy_sharp@hcpss.org

GEO (Glenelg Earth Organization)

  • Students come together to advocate and commit to activism working toward protecting our environment and all living things on the planet.
  • Faculty advisor: Jennifer Shepard (jennifer_shepard@hcpss.org)

GIRL UP CLUB

  • The Girl Up Club focuses on empowering girls to use their voices--to stand up for themselves and for girls around the world; and to show our community that girls matter. In addition to this, the Girl Up club will also focus on raising funds to support the United Nations in their work supporting girls around the world.
  • Faculty advisor: Karina DeSande (karina_aguilardedesande@hcpss.org)

GIRLS IN STEM

  • The main goal of Girls in STEM is to expose girls to fields in which they are often underrepresented. The club motivates girls who are interested in science, technology, engineering, or mathematics to explore these fields with the potential of eventually seeking a career in STEM. To do so, speakers who represent the many fields will share their experiences, and club members will be paired with local middle school students to teach workshops and create STEM related projects while also developing these students’ passion for STEM.
  • Faculty advisors: Nina Feeney (nina_feeney@hcpss.org); Patricia Feinstein (patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org)

GLENELG HIGH SCHOOL DEMOCRATS

  • Glenelg High School Democrats works to create a platform for student involvement in American politics, aligned with the Democratic Party. We aim to help students organize, stay informed, and participate in electing Democrats to local, state, and national office, while advocating for issues that matter to them most.
  • Faculty advisor: Robert Spivey (robert_spivey@hcpss.org)

GLENELG ICE HOCKEY CLUB

  • Competes in area Ice Hockey Leagues during late Fall and Winter. If interested in joining please email ghsicehockey@gmail.com (Ice Hockey Club is a private organization which is not affiliated or sponsored by the Howard County Public School System or any Howard County Public School)
  • Faculty advisor: Rachel Linder (rachel_linder@hcpss.org)

GLENELG STOCKS CLUB

  • Learn about investing, talk about stock performance, and participate in a Fantasy Investing League.
  • Faculty advisor: Joe Osborne (joseph_osborne@hcpss.org)

GOLDEN MELODY

  • Love music and performing? Love helping others through service? Volunteer to perform (instrumentally and/or vocally) at retirement homes, assisted living facilities, and hospitals throughout the school year. Get service hours for performing!
  • Faculty advisor: Natalie Cardillo (natalie_cardillo@hcpss.org)

HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America)

  • HOSA's goals are to enrich its members in medicine and health care knowledge, to compete in HOSA competitions in a variety of fields and levels, and to help its members find their interest and prepare them for a profession in health science.
  • Faculty advisor: Leila Chawkat (leila_chawkat@hcpss.org)

INTERNATIONAL CULTURAL CLUB

  • The students explore the beliefs and customs of different cultures to ensure a greater cultural understanding and sensitivity.
  • Faculty advisor: Karina De Sande (karina_aguilardedesande@hcpss.org)

IT’S ACADEMIC TEAM

  • It’s Academic Team is a club that competes in trivia competitions. Every year the club competes on the TV show It’s Academic which airs on Saturday mornings at 10:00 a.m. on CBS WJZ channel 13.
  • Faculty advisor: Kendall Morton (kendall_morton@hcpss.org)

KEY CLUB

  • An internationally recognized organization, the Key Club is sponsored by Kiwanis Leadership. Leadership opportunities exist in various roles, and students are encouraged to organize outside activities and invite fellow members to participate.
  • Faculty advisors: Carol Doermann (carol_doermann@hcpss.org); Josh Mize (joshua_mize@hcpss.org)

LATIN CLUB

  • Latin Club welcomes all students who enjoy socializing, playing games, and learning about the influences of ancient Greek and Roman societies on the modern world.
  • Faculty advisor: Melinda Cunningham (melinda_cunningham@hcpss.org)

MAGIC: THE GATHERING

  • Students cast spells and battle wizards in this fantasy card game.
  • Faculty advisor: Mr. John Ballentine – john_ballentine@hcpss.org

MARYLAND AND NATIONAL JUNIOR CLASSICAL LEAGUE

  • The Junior Classical League is open to students enrolled in or have previously taken a classical language course. A nominal membership fee is collected.
  • Faculty advisors: Melinda Cunningham (melinda_cunningham@hcpss.org); Haley Castelli (haley_castelli@hcpss.org)

MATH TEAM

  • Participating in the Math Team allows students to become engaged in higher-level critical thinking and problem solving. Practices are Wednesdays after school, and there are county-wide competitions once a month on Wednesdays.
  • Faculty advisor: Rachel Linder (rachel_linder@hcpss.org)

MOCK TRIAL TEAM

  • Students work in teams to experience firsthand the process of preparing a case for trial and then trying the case against other high school teams. It allows for public speaking experience along with seeing first hand how court cases work.
  • Faculty advisor: Feven Nugusse (feven_nugusse@hcpss.org)

MODEL UN

  • Model United Nations, also known as Model UN or MUN, is an extra-curricular activity in which students typically roleplay delegates to the United Nations and simulate UN committees. This activity takes place at MUN conferences, which is usually organized by a high school or college MUN club.
  • Faculty advisor: John Ballentine (john_ballentine@hcpss.org)

PHOTO CLUB

  • This club welcomes anyone who enjoys capturing moments on film.
  • Faculty advisor: Ms. Rachel Stein – rachel_stein1@hcpss.org

POMS

PROM SAFETY COMMITTEE

  • This committee develops activities which heighten awareness of the dangers of underage drinking and driving while intoxicated.
  • Faculty advisor: Officer Steve Willingham – steve_willingham@hcpss.org

RED CROSS

  • The Red Cross Club is centered around community service and helps complete tasks for the Red Cross. We participate in activities such as fundraising, blood drives, donations, etc.
  • Faculty advisor: Leila Chawkat (leila_chawkat@hcpss.org)

SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions)

  • SADD meets approximately once a month, targeting areas in which students are making poor/risky decisions (i.e., vaping, smoking, drinking).
  • Faculty advisor: Officer Steve Willingham – steve_willingham@hcpss.org

SAGA (Sexuality and Gender Acceptance) CLUB

  • SAGA promotes tolerance and acceptance throughout the school community and provides a safe, non-judgmental space as a support network for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, and Straight youth who share a common vision of social equality.
  • Faculty Advisor: Ms. Patricia Feinstein – patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org

SGA (Student Government Association)

  • The highlight of the club is the planning and execution of the Glenelg Homecoming theme, parade, and dance.
  • Faculty advisor: Mr. Chris Winters – christopher_winters@hcpss.org

SIGN LANGUAGE CLUB

  • Members learn about sign language and the signing culture.
  • Faculty advisor: Mr. William Aldrich – william_aldrich@hcpss.org

SPANISH CLUB

  • Members celebrate Hispanic holidays, make crafts, watch movies, participate in community service activities, develop leadership skills and promote Spanish and Hispanic cultures.
  • Faculty advisor: Denise Frank (denise_frank@hcpss.org)

SPEECH AND DEBATE CLUB

  • Glenelg's team competes locally, and you can select from many opportunities--from public speaking to a variety of team debate styles. The team is coached by a local attorney.
  • Faculty advisor: Leila Chawkat (leila_chawkat@hcpss.org)

TABLE-TENNIS CLUB

  • Table-Tennis Club is an opportunity for students to participate in tournament play after school. Students can choose to play either in singles or doubles.
  • Faculty advisor: Ms. Maureen Hammond – maureen_hammond@hcpss.org

TEAM 888: ROBOTIATORS

  • The team cooperatively builds and programs a robot to perform tasks against competitor robots in a national competition.
  • Faculty advisor: Raymond Gerstner (raymond_gerstner@hcpss.org)

THEATRICAL PRODUCTIONS

  • Theatrical productions are the main stage productions. There are both fall and spring productions each year. Members do not need to be in a drama class to audition.
  • Faculty advisor: Ms. Kassidy Sharp – kassidy_sharp@hcpss.org

WHAT’S SHÖP

YOUNG WOMEN IN GOVERNMENT

  • Young Women in Government is an inclusive club where women with any political view are free to join. There will be opportunities to participate in conventions affiliated with Junior State of America, JSA, and we will organize guest speakers further into the year. This club is also a great way to learn about current powerful women in government, study speeches and debates, learn more about our government and democracy, and have political discussions.
  • Faculty advisor: Rob Spivey (robert_spivey@hcpss.org)

Honor Societies

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY

  • Faculty advisor: Herjit Jandu (herjit_kaur_jandu@hcpss.org)

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY FOR DANCE ARTS

  • Faculty advisor: Jennifer Seye (jennifer_seye@hcpss.org)

NATIONAL LATIN HONOR SOCIETY

  • Faculty advisor: Melinda Cunningham (melinda_cunningham@hcpss.org)

NATIONAL MATH HONOR SOCIETY

  • Faculty advisor: Chris Rosas (christopher_rosas@hcpss.org)

NATIONAL SCIENCE HONOR SOCIETY

  • Faculty advisor: Patricia Feinstein (patricia_feinstein@hcpss.org)

NATIONAL SPANISH HONOR SOCIETY

  • Faculty advisors: Aracelis Virella (aracelis_virella@hcpss.org); Karina De Sande (karina_aguilardedesande@hcpss.org); Laura Land (laura_land@hcpss.org)

NATIONAL TECHNOLOGY HONOR SOCIETY

  • Faculty advisor: Raymond Gerstner (raymond_gerstner@hcpss.org)

**Requires Applications:

**ALPHA ACHIEVERS

  • Alpha Achievers is an organization that connects and encourages African American males who demonstrate academic excellence and leadership. The organization fosters leadership development through service projects, professional development seminars, scholarships, and internship opportunities. All African American male students with above a 3.0 unweighted GPA are encouraged to apply to become an Alpha Achiever.
  • Faculty advisors: Jean-Eddy Augustin (jean-eddy_augustin@hcpss.org); Philip Johnson (philip_johnson@hcpss.org)

**EXECUTIVE BOARD of the STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

  • The SGA leads the Student Government of the school and plans and executes student initiatives.
  • Faculty advisors: Marcy Burkom (marcy_burkom@hcpss.org); Aimee Hocker (aimee_hocker@hcpss.org); Dawn Currie-Scott (dawn_currie-scott@hcpss.org)

**GLADIATORS ON THE HORIZON

**THE SCHOLARSHIP LEADERSHIP CLUB (formerly Delta Scholars)

  • The Scholarship Leadership Club is open to all 10th - 12th grade female students who have a GPA of 3.0 or higher and encourages academic excellence, assist with goal setting, and provide leadership opportunities through community service.
  • Faculty advisors: Maurislyn Green (maurislyn_green@hcpss.org), Feven Nugusse (feven_nugusse@hcpss.org)